Surge Racing, a team of five students from Latymer Upper School  with team members  Adam Bedford, Josh Harris, Burathat Junput, Ferhan Malek and Ed Sayer won the Innovative Thinking Award and received a nomination for the Judges Discretionary Award.  The judges were impressed with the bespoke wheel bearings developed by the team and an electro-mechanical wheel balancer device devised for the competition.

Ed said after the awards presentation, “We're very excited and very pleased that our design impressed the judges. Our bearings were designed by ourselves with brass tubing filled with graphite lubricant which was one of the reasons why we won the award. Also our wheel balancing system helped us to disperse the energy amongst the wheels to help its performance and this was the other innovation which led to us getting this award. We've had a great weekend.”

Back to F1 in Schools World | Added 4 years ago