St John Payne School, Chelmsford, with a team of students known as Infinity, were the winners of the F1 Class. Infinity, with team members Rachel Corking, 16, Charlotte Heath, 16, Stephen Morgan (not pictured), 17, Jack Keown, 16, Colette Burwood, 16 and Luke Hassan, 16,also won Best Engineered Car Award. 

Rachel said of winning, “We really enjoyed today. We thought we'd done well and so we're really happy with the result. We're looking forward to the Nationals because we have had some good advice from some very experienced people about ergonomics and we want to put everything we've learnt into improving our car.”

Colossus F1 with team members Victoria Waterfield, 16, Team Manager; Dan Warnes, 16, Manufacturing Engineer; Charlie Flynn, 16, Design Engineer; Emma Baldry, 15, Graphic Designer; Rachael Matthews, 14, Resources Manager and Paul Cumner, 14, Design Engineer were delighted to go through to the National Finals after taking the Runner Up place in the F1 Class.  Victoria said after the event, “Today went really well for us and we're really looking forward to the Nationals. We need to focus on our car now and making sure we meet the regulations. As soon as we get back to school we'll be working on developing our car to be ready for the National Finals in March”.

Robert Mays School also triumphed in the Bloodhound Class taking first place with Team Venom. Team Venom comprised  Jake Meakin, 14, Team Manager; Katie Halley, 14, Resources Manager;  Aimee Ellerbeck, 14, Resources Manager; Malachi Gair, 14, Graphics Designer; Rachel Scott, 13, Design Engineer and Bethany Wilkinson, 14, Manufacturing Engineer. Jake said, “We've worked so hard to get this. I don't think I can describe how good this is. This is our second year, so it's brilliant to have done it this time. It's a great feeling.”

Bloodhound Class Runners Up were Ignition, with team members, Helen Jarman, 14, Team Manager; Jessic, Dewhurst, 13, Manufacturing Engineer; Nila Pillai, 14, Graphic Designer; Francesca Fleet, 14, Graphic Designer and Ben Syndercombe, 14, Resource Manager said, “We really enjoyed competing today, but we think we can improve our presentation and our pit display for the Nationals”.

FORACCS, the team from St Marylebone CE School with team members Kamil Kurdziel, 18; Fan Wu, 16; Jonathan Celis, 17; Sophie Price, 17; Matthew Nicholson, 17 and Ayman Assila, 17, won the Best Rookie Team Award.

Matthew said of winning through to the F1 in Schools National Finals, “We really enjoyed being here and competing today. It was the first time we've done this and represented the school in the competition. To win the rookie award is the best we could have hoped for and to have achieved that sets us up well for the Nationals.”

Back to F1 in Schools World | Added 4 years ago